CRAFT: a “blanket” for the car trunk

ALAS! I have a sewing machine but have not learned anything about how to use it. (If anyone out there could help me, PLEASE let me know- it’s a small Singer I could bring up to the office).  INSTEAD, I will probably employ one of our best friends: Duct tape.

If you DO sew, this project will be a cinch.

I read the post from the Simple Green Frugal Co-op  and I love it.  Here is a brief breakdown, they have step-by-step pictures in the Co-op blog.

Plastic bags– you will fix these in layers, she recommends about 6-8 grocery bags per layer or 4-5 other store bags.

Scissors, Parchment Paper, Iron

Cut the handles off of the bags (I hear you can save these to create a kind of yarn for weaving….I haven’t tried) and layer them between 2 sheets of parchment….iron together on a low heat setting- she describes better in the post.

Cut edges into decent square-ish shapes and sew (OR whatever) them together.

Keep in the trunk of the car for a plant mat, sports equipment mat…or anything! Let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

